- NBR - The National Bureau of Asian Research


NBR’s operations are governed by the Board of Directors, a nationally prominent group of leaders with long-term interests in the Asia-Pacific region. The Counselor is NBR's most senior advisory position, counseling the Board of Directors and President and providing guidance to NBR programs. NBR’s research agenda is developed in consultation with the Board of Advisors, which consists of experts from research centers, universities, and corporations.

Board of Directors Counselors Board of Advisors

Kenneth B. Pyle

Professor; Founding President
University of Washington; The National Bureau of Asian Research

Kenneth B. Pyle is the Henry M. Jackson Professor of History and Asian Studies at the University of Washington and Founding President of The National Bureau of Asian Research.

He is the author and editor of numerous books on modern Japan and its history including, Japan Rising: The Resurgence of Japanese Power and Purpose (2007), From APEC to Xanadu: Creating a Viable Community in the Post-Cold War Pacific (1997), The Making of Modern Japan (1996), The Japanese Question: Power and Purpose in a New Era (1992), The Trade Crisis: How Will Japan Respond? (1987), and The New Generation in Meiji Japan (1969). He founded the Journal of Japanese Studies in 1974 and continued to serve as its editor until 1986. Among his many articles and book chapters, he has co-authored with Michael Armacost, former ambassador to Japan and former president of the Brookings Institution, studies of Japan and the unification of Korea (1999) and of Sino-Japanese relations and the challenges posed for U.S. policy coordination (2001).

From 1978 to 1988 Dr. Pyle was Director of the Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies at the University of Washington. He was appointed by President Bush to chair the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission (1992–95), a federal agency that administers a $50 million trust fund to support Japanese studies in the United States and American studies in Japan. Concurrently he served as Co-Chairman of the U.S.-Japan Conference on Cultural and Educational Interchange, the official bilateral organization established to oversee cultural and educational relations between the two countries.

He is a member of the Board of Governors of the Henry M. Jackson Foundation (1983–present) and was a founding board member of the Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation (1981–88).

Professor Pyle is a graduate of Phillips Academy, Andover (1954), took his BA magna cum laude from Harvard College (1958), and his PhD from Johns Hopkins University (1965), where he was the Walter Hines Page Fellow in International Relations. He held a Ford Foundation Fellowship at the Inter-University Center for Japanese Studies in Tokyo (1961–64).

In 1999 the government of Japan decorated Professor Pyle with one of its highest imperial honors, the Order of the Rising Sun, for his contributions to scholarship and cultural exchange.

Charles W. Brady Board Room

Board of Directors


Charles W. Brady
Chairman Emeritus
Invesco, Ltd

Chairman Emeritus

George F. Russell, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
Russell Investments

Vice Chairman and Treasurer

John V. Rindlaub
President, Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo & Company

Vice Chairman

George Davidson
Vice Chairman, Mergers and Acquisitions,

Board of Directors

Thomas W. Albrecht
Sidley Austin LLP

Admiral Dennis C. Blair
U.S. Navy (Ret.)

Lawrence W. Clarkson
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, The Boeing Company (Ret.)

Norman D. Dicks
Senior Policy Advisor
Van Ness Feldman, LLP

Richard J. Ellings
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)

Thomas E. Fisher
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Unocal Corporation (Ret.)

Mark Jones
Managing Director, Head of Wells Fargo Securities Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo Securities Asia Limited
Wells Fargo & Company

Joachim Kempin
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Microsoft Corporation (Ret.)

Clark S. Kinlin
Honorary Member of the Board
President and Chief Executive Officer, Corning Cable Systems
Corning Incorporated

Ryo Kubota
Chairman, President, and CEO
Acucela Inc.

Quentin W. Kuhrau
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Maria Livanos Cattaui
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Regina Mayor
Principal, Global Sector Head and U.S. National Sector Leader of Energy and Natural Resources

Melody Meyer
Melody Meyer Energy LLC

Joseph M. (Joe) Naylor
Vice President of Policy, Government and Public Affairs
Chevron Corporation

C. Michael Petters
President and Chief Executive Officer
Huntington Ingalls Industries (HII)

Kenneth B. Pyle
Professor; Founding President
University of Washington; The National Bureau of Asian Research

Jonathan Roberts
Founder & Partner
Ignition Partners

Tom Robertson
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Microsoft Corporation

Matt Salmon
Vice President of Government Affairs
Arizona State University

Gordon M. Smith
Chief Operating Officer
Exact Staff, Inc.

Scott Stoll
Ernst & Young LLP

David K.Y. Tang
Managing Partner, Asia
K&L Gates LLP


Please visit the page Remembering Herbert J. Ellison (October 3, 1929–October 9, 2012) to learn about longtime former board member Herbert J. Ellison, Professor Emeritus, University of Washington, who played an instrumental role in the founding of NBR in 1989.

Please visit the page In Honor of General John M. Shalikashvili (June 27, 1936–July 23, 2011) to learn about longtime former board member John M. Shalikashvili, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff (Retired).