- NBR - The National Bureau of Asian Research


NBR’s operations are governed by the Board of Directors, a nationally prominent group of leaders with long-term interests in the Asia-Pacific region. The Counselor is NBR's most senior advisory position, counseling the Board of Directors and President and providing guidance to NBR programs. NBR’s research agenda is developed in consultation with the Board of Advisors, which consists of experts from research centers, universities, and corporations.

Board of Directors Counselors Board of Advisors

Richard J. Ellings

The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)

Richard J. Ellings is President of The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) and Affiliate Professor of International Studies at the Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies, University of Washington. NBR is a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution whose mission is to inform and strengthen policy in the Asia-Pacific. Co-founder of NBR, he has served as the institution’s Executive Director and sits on the Board of Directors.

Prior to serving with NBR, Dr. Ellings was Assistant Director and on the faculty of the Jackson School 1986 to 1989. In this capacity he was a member of the school's Executive Committee and responsible for a wide range of administrative functions. He taught courses dealing with Asia, American foreign policy, and international relations (including foreign economic policy and international political economy), and was director of the George E. Taylor Foreign Affairs Institute.

Early in his career, he served as Legislative Assistant in the United States Senate, Office of Senator Slade Gorton. He was the senator's senior advisor for, and responsible for legislation on, foreign and defense policy issues.

Dr. Ellings publishes articles and chapters regularly. His books include Embargoes and World Power: Lessons from American Foreign Policy (1985); Private Property and National Security (1991, co-author); (co-editor with Aaron Friedberg) Strategic Asia 2003–04: Fragility and Crisis (2003), Strategic Asia 2002–03: Asian Aftershocks (2002), and Strategic Asia 2001–02: Power and Purpose (2001); (co-author and editor with Nicholas Eberstadt) Korea’s Future and the Great Powers (2001), and (co-editor with Sheldon Simon) Southeast Asian Security in the New Millennium (1996). He is the co-founder and co-chairman of the editorial board, Asia Policy, 2006–present, he established the Strategic Asia Program, has served as consultant to the Office of the Secretary of Defense, Department of State, Department of Energy, and other U.S. government offices and agencies, and has testified before Congress on U.S.-Asia policy.

Dr. Ellings serves as the Executive Director for The Commission on the Theft of American Intellectual Property (IP Commission), as well as the editor of the IP Commission Report (2013) and the IP Commission Report Update (2017).

He received the University of Washington's Distinguished Teaching Award and was a nominee for the same award at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, where he taught in 1980 and 1981.

Dr. Ellings earned his BA in Political Science from the University of California–Berkeley, and his MA and PhD in Political Science from the University of Washington. He studied in China as well and his professional activities continue to take him overseas regularly. He regularly is interviewed in the print and electronic media.

Contact: Seattle Office

Charles W. Brady Board Room

Board of Directors


Charles W. Brady
Chairman Emeritus
Invesco, Ltd

Chairman Emeritus

George F. Russell, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
Russell Investments

Vice Chairman and Treasurer

John V. Rindlaub
President, Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo & Company

Vice Chairman

George Davidson
Vice Chairman, Mergers and Acquisitions,

Board of Directors

Thomas W. Albrecht
Sidley Austin LLP

Admiral Dennis C. Blair
U.S. Navy (Ret.)

Lawrence W. Clarkson
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, The Boeing Company (Ret.)

Norman D. Dicks
Senior Policy Advisor
Van Ness Feldman, LLP

Richard J. Ellings
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)

Thomas E. Fisher
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Unocal Corporation (Ret.)

Mark Jones
Managing Director, Head of Wells Fargo Securities Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo Securities Asia Limited
Wells Fargo & Company

Joachim Kempin
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Microsoft Corporation (Ret.)

Clark S. Kinlin
Honorary Member of the Board
President and Chief Executive Officer, Corning Cable Systems
Corning Incorporated

Ryo Kubota
Chairman, President, and CEO
Acucela Inc.

Quentin W. Kuhrau
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Maria Livanos Cattaui
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Regina Mayor
Principal, Global Sector Head and U.S. National Sector Leader of Energy and Natural Resources

Melody Meyer
Melody Meyer Energy LLC

Joseph M. (Joe) Naylor
Vice President of Policy, Government and Public Affairs
Chevron Corporation

C. Michael Petters
President and Chief Executive Officer
Huntington Ingalls Industries (HII)

Kenneth B. Pyle
Professor; Founding President
University of Washington; The National Bureau of Asian Research

Jonathan Roberts
Founder & Partner
Ignition Partners

Tom Robertson
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Microsoft Corporation

Matt Salmon
Vice President of Government Affairs
Arizona State University

Gordon M. Smith
Chief Operating Officer
Exact Staff, Inc.

Scott Stoll
Ernst & Young LLP

David K.Y. Tang
Managing Partner, Asia
K&L Gates LLP


Please visit the page Remembering Herbert J. Ellison (October 3, 1929–October 9, 2012) to learn about longtime former board member Herbert J. Ellison, Professor Emeritus, University of Washington, who played an instrumental role in the founding of NBR in 1989.

Please visit the page In Honor of General John M. Shalikashvili (June 27, 1936–July 23, 2011) to learn about longtime former board member John M. Shalikashvili, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff (Retired).