- NBR - The National Bureau of Asian Research

Maritime Energy Resources in Asia: Results Launch Meeting

On December 12, 2011, NBR and The Habibie Center, a non-profit Jakarta-based think tank dedicated to advancing modernization and democratization in Indonesia, hosted a results launch meeting for NBR’s three-year initiative “Maritime Energy Resources in Asia: Opportunities for Joint Development” (MERA) at the Hotel Nikko in Jakarta.

The project’s Principal Investigator, Dr. Clive Schofield (Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources and Security, ANCORS) led the event, which also featured senior advisors Ambassador Hasjim Djalal and Ian Townsend-Gault (University of British Columbia), as well as members of the project research team including Andi Arsana (ANCORS), Nick Owen (University of Cambridge), and Tara Davenport (National University of Singapore).

Team members presented the results of their findings, focusing on the energy resources at the center of the maritime jurisdictional disputes in the South China Sea; previous examples of cooperation that could serve as models for future collaboration in the absence of final legal delimitation of maritime boundaries; and recent developments in international law, which could assist in the peaceful adjudication of the disputes.


Session 1: Competing Maritime Claims in East and Southeast Asia

Clive Schofield and Andi Arsana

Session 2: Approaches to Dispute Settlement in East and Southeast Asia

Hasjim Djalal

Session 3: South China Sea Energy Resources

Nick Owen

Session 4: Maritime Cooperation and State Responsibilities in the Oceans and Lessons Learned from Joint Development

Ian Townsend-Gault and Tara Davenport

Session 5: MERA Project Conclusions and Recommendations

Clive Schofield and Ian Townsend-Gault


Ambassador Hasjim Djalal giving the keynote address

(From left): Clive Schofield, Ambassador Djalal, Ian Townsend-Gault, and Andi Arsana

Nick Owen

MERA team and Habibie Center (front row from left): Clive Schofield, Ambassador Djalal, Ian Townsend-Gault, Maya Thatcher, Tim Cook (back from left): Tara Davenport, Ima Abdulrahim, Andi Arsana, and Fitri R.