Pacific Health Summit Participants

“Ever since attending the first meeting in 2005, I have come to think of these Summits as the 21st century version of an 18th century salon. Seasoned thought leaders from government, business, and a variety of academic disciplines from many countries come together to have elevated conversations on a topic at the intersection of health, healthcare, and technology.”
Uwe Reinhardt, James Madison Professor of Political Economy, Princeton University


Featured Participants

The Summit’s goal to transform healthcare could not be realized without collaboration from experts and an open and spirited dialogue on the issues. The organizers of the Summit were pleased to welcome the best minds in science, industry, policy, research, and public health from across the globe. Featured participants at the annual Summit meetings from 2005 to 2012 are listed below by sector.


Sagheer Ahmed, Minister, Department of Health, State of Sindh, Pakistan

Don Berwick, Administrator, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, United States

Maharaj Bhan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, India

Zhu Chen, Minister, Ministry of Health, China

Francis Collins, Director, National Institutes of Health, United States

Nigel Crisp, Independent Member, House of Lords; Chief Executive (former), National Health Service, United Kingdom

Nils Daulaire, Director, Office of Global Health Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services, United States

Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer & Chief Scientific Advisor, Department of Health and National Health Service, United Kingdom

Andrew Donaldson, Deputy Director-General, Public Finance, National Treasury, South Africa

Anthony Fauci, Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, United States

Carlos Gadelha, Secretary, Science, Technology, and Strategic Inputs, Ministry of Health, Brazil

Tore Godal, Special Advisor to the Prime Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway

Anuradha Gupta, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, India

Paulina Nghipandulwa, Director, Tertiary Health Care, Ministry of Health and Social Services, Namibia

Gary Locke, Ambassador to China, Department of State, United States

Muhammad Pate, Minister of State for Health, Ministry of Health, Nigeria

Mphu Ramatlapeng, Minister, Ministry of Health, Lesotho

His Royal Highness, the Emir of Argungu, Argungu Emirate Council

Saudatu Sani, Parliamentarian & Chair, Committee on Millennium Development Goals, The House of Representatives of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Andrew C. von Eschenbach, Commissioner (former), Food and Drug Administration, United States

Yu Wang, Director, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, China

Dezhi Yu, Director General, National Health Development Research Center, Ministry of Health, China


James Allen, Asia Pacific Medical Director, Chevron Corporation

Brian Brink, Chief Medical Officer, Anglo American Corporation

Olivier Charmeil, President & CEO, sanofi-pasteur

John Dineen, President & CEO, GE Healthcare

Paulo Gadelha Vieira, President, Oswaldo Cruz Foundation

Julie Gerberding, President, Merck Vaccines, Merck & Company Inc.

Jie Liu, Chief Operating Officer, Mindray Medical International

Kenichi Matsumoto, Chairman and CEO, Sakura Global Holding, Co. Ltd.

Sheri McCoy, CEO, Avon Products, Worldwide Chairman (former), Johnson & Johnson

Ali Mufuruki, Chairman & CEO, Infotech Investment Group Ltd.

Frederick Mutebi, Chief Financial Officer, Quality Chemicals Industries, Ltd.

Craig Mundie, Chief Research & Strategy Officer, Microsoft Corporation

Steven Phillips, Medical Director (former), Global Issues and Projects, Exxon Mobil Corporation

Rino Rappuoli, Global Head of Vaccines Research, Novartis

Martin Riant, President, Global Baby Care, Procter & Gamble

Mark Swindell, President, Vaccines, Pfizer Inc.

Hiromitsu Tazawa, Vice Chairman, SRL; Senior Executive Officer, Miraca Holdings, Japan

Rengaraj Venkatesh, Chief Medical Officer, Aravind Eye Hospital

Chris Viehbacher, CEO, Sanofi

Guy Wollaert, Senior Vice President & Chief Technical Officer, The Coca-Cola Company

Andrew Witty, CEO, GlaxoSmithKline

Derek Yach, Senior Vice President, Global Health Policy, PepsiCo

Tachi Yamada, Board Director & Medical and Scientific Advisor to the CEO, Takeda Pharmaceutical

Xiaoming Yang, President, China National Biotech Group

International Agencies

Jorge Bermudez, Executive Secretary (former), UNITAID Secretariat

Margaret Chan, Director-General, World Health Organization

Armin Fidler, Lead Advisor, Health Policy and Strategy, Human Development Network, The World Bank

Michel Kazatchkine, Executive Director (former), The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

Seth Berkley, CEO, Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunisation (GAVI)

Babatunde Osotimehin, Executive Director, UNFPA

Ann Veneman, Executive Director (former), UNICEF

Science, Research, and Academia

Leszek Borysiewicz, Vice Chancellor, University of Cambridge

Mark Dybul, Distinguished Visiting Scholar & Co-Director, Global Health Law Program, O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law, Georgetown University; Inaugural Health Fellow, George W. Bush Institute

Julio Frenk, Dean of the Faculty, School of Public Health, Harvard University

Patricia Garcia, Dean, School of Public Health and Administration, Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia; Chief (former) National Institutes of Health, Peru

Lee Hartwell, Chief Scientist, Center for Sustainable Health, The Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University; President & Director Emeritus, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Depei Liu, President, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences & Peking Union Medical College

Peter Piot, Director, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Hans Rosling, Director, Gapminder Foundation; Professor, Global Health, Karolinska Institutet

Keizo Takemi, Senior Fellow, Japan Center for International Exchange


NGO and Civil Society

William Castell, Chairman, The Wellcome Trust

Jamie Cooper-Hohn, CEO, The Children’s Investment Fund Foundation

Steve Davis, President & CEO, PATH

Christopher Elias, President, Global Development, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Paul Farmer, Founding Director, Partners in Health

Kevin Jenkins, President & CEO, World Vision International

Trevor Mundel, President, Global Health Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Jay Naidoo, Chairman of the Board, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition

K. Srinath Reddy, President, Public Health Foundation of India


Sarah Boseley, Health Editor, The Guardian

Philip Campbell, Editor-in-Chief, Nature

Susan Dentzer, Editor-in-Chief, Health Affairs

Andrew Jack, Pharmaceuticals Correspondent, The Financial Times

Rachel Jones, Knight Health Fellow, International Center for Journalists

Kate Kelland, Health and Science Correspondent, Europe, Middle East, and Africa, Thomson, Reuters, Reuters News

Mia Malan, Health Correspondent, Mail and Guardian; Lecturer, Health Journalism, Rhodes University

Anso Thom, Print Editor, Health-e News Service, South Africa

Fergus Walsh, Medical Correspondent, BBC News

About the Pacific Health Summit

Since its inception in 2005, the Summit mission was to connect science, industry, and policy for a healthier world. By fostering substantive, cross-sector communication, the Secretariat sought to catalyze strategic alliances that will produce long-term results and partnerships. Learn more.